December Graduation

GROUP PIC of December GradsStorer Auditorium was filled with friends, family and well-wishers Wednesday night as December graduates were honored during a Recognition Ceremony.

Amanda Guereschi
Amanda Guereschi

Graduating student Amanda Guereschi addressed her classmates. She reflected on her journey both as a person and a student. She thanked her professors for the critical role they played in her development. “The faculty at Onondaga Community College has never disappointed me with their ability to be both teacher and student,” she said. “They have always been open to opinion, imagination, and good discussion, encouraging me to find my truth. So my answer to this life, my truth I found here has come organically with the aid of our teachers. They have guided me to challenge myself to explore which has brought me good grades and two wonderful transfer opportunities, and hopefully further degrees and a job that fills me with passion but success is left for us to define as individuals.” Guereschi is a 2003 alum of Chittenango High School who majored in Liberal Arts and Humanities with an Honors minor. She was a member of international honor society Phi Theta Kappa and the Politics Club. She will transfer to either Syracuse University or Le Moyne College for the spring 2016 semester.

The night also featured the presentation of a special award. James F. Holland, Executive Vice President of SRC, Incorporated received an honorary doctorate degree for his numerous contributions to the College. This is the highest form of recognition offered by the State University of New York to persons of exceptional distinction.

OCC’s signature Music program had a significant role in the ceremony. Associate Professor Music David J. Rudari, D.M.A. performed the National Anthem at the beginning of the event and the Alma Mater at the end. Also the OCC Guitar Ensemble performed Remembrance by Professor of Mathematics Joseph Browne.

Congratulations to our December 2015 graduates!

The Guitar Ensemble (left to right): Brad Butler, Benjamin Jones, Geoffrey Schermerhorn and Dr. Kenneth Meyer.
The Guitar Ensemble (left to right): Brad Butler, Benjamin Jones, Geoffrey Schermerhorn and Dr. Kenneth Meyer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s